1 (edited by bossmanottoman 2018-02-04 16:30:20)

Topic: RME Madiface Pro + SPL Madison?

new questions. im new to recording. i was thinking about investing into a Madiface Pro.. Let me know if this is a practical solution. I have 4 synths (4 stereo outs) and few preamps which i wanted to connect/track/monitor simultaneously into my DAW.

a) Can i buy a 16i/o converter  like SPL Madison which is also madi based and use that as a conversion and use Madiface Pro as the interface?

b) does Madiface connects/interface with PC through USB? or do i need a seperate Madi device?

c) lastly, is total mix compitable with PT 12? or with RME am i only able to use the RME software?

are these two units compatible with each other? in a nutshell, can i use madison as a converter and run to 4 stereo synths and listen, record, playback through the Madiface, or there is a better workflow with any other RME unints, please do inform me.  i would appreciate any help!

2 (edited by ramses 2018-02-04 17:36:35)

Re: RME Madiface Pro + SPL Madison?

Madiface Pro and SPL madison cost together €1599 and €1199 = €2800

For the same money you could buy an UFX+ €2699 and ARC USB €129 = €2828

The UFX+ would have several advantages for you
- everything in one 19" rack unit
- advanced analog section (in regards to Mic preamps and analog section including headphone preamp)
- Full standalone operation by display
- enhanced Durec, either as a parallel running backup of a recording for safety reasons or to be used like a tape recorder
- USB3 and Thunderbold connection
- The ARC usb is a phantastic remote control, also very useful for standalone operation

You have already 8 analog INs and Outs ..
Shall you require more analog I/Os, then you can still expand via ADAT or MADI.

To your second question, madiface is being connected to the PC via USB2.

TotalMix is a mixer offering you the possibility to create any to any routing, create flexible monitor and headphone mixes.