1 (edited by aravindc3135 2019-10-18 13:36:10)

Topic: RME Babyface pro Optical In/Out with mastering converters.

Hey guys, I've had a Babyface pro for recording/monitoring purposes for a while now. I am not too familiar with Totalmix FX as I haven't had the need to tweak it much for my current use. Also, I am a complete newbie when it comes to pro audio, I try to learn as much as I can for my needs as they arise.

I have a question about using mastering quality DAC and ADC that I recently purchaced, with the optical in and out ports on the Babyface Pro.

I bought a Mytek stereo 192 DSD DAC and a Blacklion audio sparrow ADC mk2 white.

The mytek has spdif in and the sparrow mk2 has an spdif out. My question is, can I connect both my converters to the appropriate in/out ports on the Babyface Pro and route the signals with Totalmix?

Also, I want to use the sparrow's clock for the entire setup. I read somewhere that the Babyface Pro uses the spdif in port for clock signals. So does that mean by default, the Babyface pro will sync with the clock from the sparrow(it will feed the spdif in)? How about the mytek? What will it sync to? Can I use the clock out on the sparrow to the clock in on the mytek?

Of course, if this is not a viable setup, I will purchace a pcie card instead. I was thinking RME HDSPe RayDat pcie card. Will this be an appropriate choice for my application(if the Babyface pro isn't sufficient)? For future upgrades, I will be needing more DAC channels for analog summing(around 16 channels). Am I future proofed if I get the RayDat card?
Thank you for your time!

Edit: I don't have the mytek unit with me yet, so I couldn't test this.

Re: RME Babyface pro Optical In/Out with mastering converters.

Hi!

The mytek has spdif in and the sparrow mk2 has an spdif out. My question is, can I connect both my converters to the appropriate in/out ports on the Babyface Pro and route the signals with Totalmix?

Yes, you can!