1 (edited by behn66 2019-12-18 18:14:55)

Topic: questyle CMA400i vs ADI2-DAC FS - why the flat device wins

Dear all,

I just forgot how diffucult it is to compare hifi-devices, knowing that I am not very experienced in doing the same.

So if the topic here is poorly written, kindly let me know and I am trying to improve.

Right now sitting in-front of questyle 400i and ADI-2 DAC FS and enjoying FLAC-(44.1khz) recorded stuff. Don't have higher-res stuff avail.
Both DACS either attached to a small RPI4 (kodi)  or WIN10 (foobar2000 with ASIO-drivers installed and used). Only USB-input used.

Comparing both as DAC and as phone-amp (audeze LCD-2, Hifiman Ananda and beyerdynamic T1). Beeing  honest, its very much more difficult then I expected.

The questyle CMA 400i is tonaly sounding different then the ADI-2. The focals/voice is substantially more present in the CMA400i. The highs sound a bit more present.  Sounds as the CMA400i adds more "action". Especially when switching between both, the ADI-2 sounds somewhat flat.
But while the highs sound more present in the CMA 400i, the ADI-2 wins on clearness. ADI-2 provides a very detailed sound and never "sharp".
On ADI-2 both  EQ and loudness is turned off actually. Turning on loudness on the ADI-2 (which is a genius like implemented on the ADI-2) brings both more on par, but the voice on the CMA400i is still very more in foreground. And I like the way the CMA400i is adding power and substance to voice as well.
As loudness makes a diff you realize the level I am listening is rather calm.

Btw, Took me some time to get used to the menu and all of its functions. Running latest sw version 33. Thanks for the nice manual - useful stuff.

But interesting, when listening long enough to both, the CMA400i becomes somewhat uneasy. I have the feeling its "stressing/yelling" me. I just have the devices since yesterday and realize I am mainly enjoying the ADI-2.