1 (edited by whittin3 2020-11-10 23:53:08)

Topic: Achieving no hum / noise from guitar input

Hello All,

I have an RME UFX II and absolutely love it. I am new to RME and audio engineering in general. Currently, my PRS Custom 24-08 guitar is plugged into Mic/Line 10 (INSTR enabled) via an unbalanced cable. My Main output is phones 9/10 and I listen on passive Beyer Dynamics DT 1990 headphones. I have loopback enabled on hardware outputs AN 7 and AN 8. This is so I can quickly change snapshots and hear / assign different guitar effects through my DAW. In one snapshot I have the hardware gain turned up to 25.0 (and lots of overdrive though S-Gear via Reaper) and there is a small high pitch hum that gets amplified. If listening through RME Total mix on hardware input Mic/Line 10, the hum is barely there (however it is very noticeable if you turn the gain up to 35.0+).

I am trying to figure out if I can solve this issue with software and/or hardware.  I appreciate the added gain for legato playing but want a clean gain / signal. Will a DI box fix an issue like this (example: buying a LEHLE P-SPLIT III?), or can RME Total Mix FX correct this (I have muted the constant noise through DSP e.g. essentially a noise gate but this seems like a band-aid)? Maybe DSP compression? Note: In Reaper, I have master and channel volume sliders at 0db and guitar volume turned all the way up.

Appreciate any and all help / tips! Thank you!

2 (edited by whittin3 2020-11-10 23:54:37)

Re: Achieving no hum / noise from guitar input

Leaving the DAW and Total Mix RME without change, when I unplug the guitar there is no more hiss / buzz coming from the output. Plugging in a single coil guitar increases the noise versus a humbucker guitar which lessens the noise. Physically moving the guitar lessens the noise depending on the placement.

Any other means / tricks of eliminating this high pitch noise? (I dont believe a TRS cable would help since my guitar source is not balanced AFAIK).