Topic: ADI-2 DAC fs & Active speakers

What is your experience with ADI-2 and actives?
What do you have/auditioned/prefer?
I am a musician (classical singer) but I'm asking from audiophile point of view! smile

Thank you!!

Re: ADI-2 DAC fs & Active speakers

What do you expect? They are completely transparent. If you are looking for sound, look somewhere else.

DomieMic65 wrote:

I am a musician (classical singer) but I'm asking from audiophile point of view! smile

Thank you!!

Hi Domie!

I think a resounding "Yes" would be in order regarding your consideration of Active Monitors to pair with your RME.  They BOTH make sense.  wink

Actives bring a lot to the table, but like any other speaker, user tastes/budget will still play a large role in your choice.  Get out, and audition a few!   Better still to audition them in your own room, if you can arrange this. 

Have Fun, and keep us informed!

Regards,

Curt

Vintage 2018 ADI-2 DAC. "Classic AKM4490 Edition"
Cables:  Red, and White Ones.
Speakers:  Yes

If you're a classical singer, I suggest something from the broad but bewildering portfolio of Genelec speakers. If you want hifi speakers for your living room, then maybe look elsewhere. But if you are using the speakers as a tool to assist with / develop your singing in any way, then take a look at Genelec. Whenever speakers are used in the classical world for performance, they tend to be Genelecs, and so you may already be used to the sound of them. Genelecs can be connected to ADI-2 DAC FS very easily and effectively.

5 (edited by KaiS 2021-02-06 18:11:58)

DomieMic65 wrote:

The speaker (and it’s room placement) is what defines 99.9% of the sound, the DAC/Preamp 0.1% at best.

This is a fact that is largely neglected in the Internet discussions where you could think that a different DAC, Preamp, Cable (what a stupidity!), ... whatsoever would make a night and day difference.
It doesn’t!