Topic: TotalMix resets all snapshots, settings and workspaces to old ones
So I was configuring my newly received ARC USB the other day and set up a bunch of snapshots in TotalMix to use with bindings on the ARC to quickly go between them, plus some other functions, like a mute group and volume dial precision toggle.
A few days later when I started up my PC with the ARC and my UFX II attached, everything reset to before all of this. I'm not sure exactly why but I can think of two possibilities:
1. Perhaps TotalMix doesn't persist settings unless it closes nicely. I had a Windows crash prior to this so I didn't shut down normally.
2. I've often wondered if TotalMix has multiple versions on the PC and I get a random instance when I start it, and this time I got some old instance from before all this new configuration.
To explain 2, I've always been bothered by the title bar of TotalMix showing a (1) or a (2). It's like it's saying it thinks it's instance 1 or instance 2, or perhaps device 1 or device 2. I think the only time this number was missing was on first installation, before any updates came out and I reinstalled, so it felt like something was left lingering in my system. If I connect with TotalMix remote on another machine it also has the number, but it doesn't necessarily match the number on the host TotalMix window. I haven't seen anything online about this number in the title bar, so I really don't know what to make of it. Whether it's relevant or not, I'd really appreciate someone explaining what it means.
I'm not sure I can upload an image to this forum, but the title bar text reads like this:
RME TotalMix FX Fireface UCX II (2) - 48.0k - ...ive\Documents\RME TotalMix\Workspaces\General.trwss
TIA,
Dan