Topic: Second FF800 Loses Settings when Making Changes to First FF800

I've been using 2 FF800s for a few years with limited success. Sometimes everything works fine, sometimes it doesn't. Everything is very hit and miss no matter what I try. I've tried multiple types of Firewire interfaces, cables and connection setups based on advice on this forum and others.

One common thing that has been happening for a long time which might be a sign that something bigger is wrong: if I change a simple setting on FF800 #1 (usually the latency setting), a whole bunch of settings on FF800 #2 change randomly. The latency on #2 changes to match #1, but so do the sync settings and some other random things (+4/-10 level settings, S/PDIF format, limiter on instrument inputs, etc.)  Each time this happens, I have to fix the settings back on #2 and select "store to flash," and I usually have to reboot because the audio is often garbled.

I'm getting so frustrated that I'm thinking about just daisy chaining FF800 #2 to #1 using the ADAT connectors since I only use the 8 analog I/O on #2. If I configure #2 as a slave unit over ADAT and disconnect the firewire port, what will happen if I need to change a setting on #1 (latency, for example)? Will unit #2 adjust to match?

Thanks in advance,
Synth80s

Re: Second FF800 Loses Settings when Making Changes to First FF800

Which driver are you currently using, and which firmware is in each of the FF 800?

Regards
Matthias Carstens
RME

I've had both units for several years, so I've run them with different firmware and drivers over that time. Right now, both are running firmware v2.77 and driver v3.047 under Windows 7 x64.

Update: I just setup the 2nd unit in standalone mode (per the YouTube video) and so far it seems to be working well, though I've only been testing for 20 minutes.