Topic: Fireface UFX via Firewire... not quite what I had hoped for...

Hey all,

I'm brand new to RME equipment...  just got rid of a Presonus Firestudio 2626 in favor of an RME Fireface UFX.

I recently built a brand new machine in an effort to bring more usability into my studio.  My new machine consists of an Intel P67 motherboard, an Intell i7-2600K 3.4 GHz CPU, 16 GB of DDR3 1600 RAM and a Gigabyte Radeon 6770 graphic card.

The Firewire chipset on the motherboard is TI based and the UFX is the only device connected via Firewire.

I use Cubase 6 64-bit and run on Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit.

Via Firewire, I can't get Cubase to even work with the latency at 48 samples.  It immediately starts throwing errors in the RME Fireface software.  At 64 or 96, I don't get any errors, but I get pops and click and around 50% processor utilization if there are any VSTs in the project at all (even though they are 64 bit VSTs).

With USB, I can run at 48 samples, but it has pops and clicks.  64 and 96 work about the same as Firewire with about the same processor utilization.

It seems that I can't get anything reliable until I am around the 128 sample setting... which is not all that much less latency that I was experiencing with my Firestudio 2626.   One of the reasons I upgraded was to lower my latency.

Seems that with as powerful of a computer as I have, I should be able to be at a lower latency without taxing the CPU (multithreaded quad core!) as much as it does.

I've tried going to the legacy Firewire driver in Windows without any noticeable change.  I just feel like I must be missing something, as I expected much better performance from this system.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jim

Re: Fireface UFX via Firewire... not quite what I had hoped for...

I'd guess it's a system thing over the UFX.

Even on my FF400 I use 64 samples completely flawless on a MacBook Pro 13"

Your system shouldn't even budge at 64 with a UFX