Topic: Help! horrible sound when recording, wordclock issue?

Hello Everyone,
I'm kind of desperate because everytime I try to record something, after a few seconds, the sound become very harshed, cracked etc...
Here is my setup :
Macbook intel core 2 duo, 4g,  with snow leopard last updates with Logic 9 and last updates.
I have a Big ben as Clock Master plugged to Fireface 800 (I've just seen that there is a new firmware, have to install) and FF800 to Fireface 400. 
I have one 75 ohms WC cable from Big ben WC output to FF800 WC input, and a 75 ohms WC cable from FF800 to FF400 WC input. The two 75 ohms switch are selected.
The FF800 is connected to the FF400 with a 400 Firewire cable.
I have connected my computer to the FF800 with a 400/800 firewire cable.

I can see in the Fireface settings that the 2 FF are in slave mode. Everything seems fine as I can see Green lights everywhere
I have noticed that the green WC led on the FF400 is flashing regularly but remain green... Is that a problem?

Well I think I have a clean setup but when I'm recording something in 44,1 or 96Khz, the sound become very cracked, saturated quickly.
Into logic, the latency is set to 128. But I've tried different settings and the problem is still here...
I'm not using the preamp of the FF's but external like API or vintech etc...
Frequently, I use the 16 outputs of the FF's to mix on a console and send back the Master to 2 inputs of the FF800 to record the mix from the console.

Please, I hope somebody has a tip for me because I really don't know where the problem is coming from and how to resolve it!

Re: Help! horrible sound when recording, wordclock issue?

The flashing LED light indicates the input is not in sync.

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

Ok, it is good to know.
Then, Anybody have an idea to fix it?
What if I use only the WC outputs of the Big ben (to FF800 and FF400) instead of FF800 OUT to FF400 IN?
Another idea please?