1 (edited by 9wind 2012-10-24 07:02:15)

Topic: Any suggestions for a new setup?

Hello everyone,

I have been a serious musician for 14 years now, and while my focus has always been on composing/performing I do have significant recording experience as well, though mainly with analog devices.  I finally have the opportunity to build a dedicated music studio from scratch, so I have been researching and learning all I can about digital audio recording (wow, a lot has changed!) and the associated hardware.  What a tsunami of products!  I'm a fast learner, but it's a bit overwhelming to decide which products are ideal.  So, here I am! 

These are my requirements: I will be recording mainly vocals and "real" instruments, including drum kits, so I need at least 8 mic preamp inputs.  I might occasionally use MIDI instruments or synths, but anything beyond the basics for this is overkill (for now).  It would be nice to have a built-in FX processor and two headphones outs.  I have no need for this setup to be portable or compact; it will be used in the studio only.  I will be using a PC with (probably) Windows 7, but I don't mind modifying/upgrading it - if need be - to work with whatever hardware I decide on.  I would (obviously) like the best quality I can get within about a $5k budget (not including mics/cables/etc. of course).