Topic: Need a Win8 notebook for my new Babyface

Hello,
I am waiting for my Babyface at the moment and I wanted to use this time to search for a new laptop.
Unfortunately I am a bit confused about the DPC Latency and the fact that on Windows 8 the latency checker does not provide correct values. Now I wonder if anybody here can give me some tips for compatible Win8 Laptops for the Babyface.
I have no experience with mobile audio workstations but I will need one in future. Thats why I have ordered the Babyface, as it gives great mobility and it seems to fit perfectly for me. On the software side I use Adobe Audition CS 6.
My wish list for the laptop is as follows:
- Win 8
- very low DPC Latency
- quiet fan / good coling (I have also orderd the extension cable in case the laptop is too loud)
- no shared memory grafic card, I prefer a real NVIDIA or ATI card
- DVD/RW not needed, I want to use an external USB drive
- big battery, long battery life
- PCMCIA card slot (not mandatory)
- enough USB 2.0 and at least one USB 3.0

Anything else that is importand?

By the way, the DPC checker site says:

Windows 8 Compatibility: The DPC latency utility runs on Windows 8 but does not show correct values. The output suggests that the Windows 8 kernel performs badly and introduces a constant latency of one millisecond which is not the case in practice. DPCs in the Windows 8 kernel behave identical to Windows 7. The utility produces incorrect results because the implementation of kernel timers has changed in Windows 8 which causes a side effect with the measuring algorithm used by the utility. Thesycon is working on a new version of the DPC latency utility and will make it available on this site as soon as it is finished.

I hope that someone can help me becouse I want to make sure not to spend a lot money just to find out it was the wrong decision. The Baby needs a good playmate so it has fun playing wink

2 (edited by funkyspacecadet 2013-02-17 21:44:47)