1 (edited by Ostkin01 2016-02-09 12:11:02)

Topic: Need advice on ADAT expansions

Hello, I have a fireface UFX and want to expand inputs/outputs to connect extra outboard gear. What should I do? I am really not very up to date with ADAT so I look for a professional solution. I want to keep the UFX as my main board.

I look forward to all your suggestions, many thanks in advance!

Re: Need advice on ADAT expansions

Anybody around here?

What kind of budget do you have for this? Which type of analog I/O do you need, just line level?

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

Thanks Jeff for the reply. Budget is not an issue, I'm not looking for compromises, just a rock-solid system, reliable and pro. Yep just line inputs are fine, I only need to expand analogue gear, add some EQs and compressors and the likes. I have never done something like this before so I'm totally new to this.

Thanks for all advice!

Then I would say your best way forward is another UFX. It's easy to set the unit to AD/DA mode and use with your existing unit via ADAT. You also get a back up interface this way.

The ADI-8 DS mkIII is also a good choice, but not as versatile.

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

Thanks Jeff, do you connect the two devices via optical cable? I looked up ADAT cable online but it doesn't look like it would fit in the ADAT ports of the devices. Do you have a link to a photo of what I need to connect the two?

Thanks a lot!

ADAT cables are simple TOSLINK or SPDIF optical cables. Nothing else.

Regards
Matthias Carstens
RME

Whats also possible and what I did. I wanted to have more redundancy and best latency with least impact on computer CPU.

So I bought a RayDAT and connected the existing UFX/ARC combination as Preamp using ADAT 1+2 in/out.

I bought my near field monitors with additional AES digital Interface (Geithain RL906D) and connected it to the UFX via AES (you can use a Mutec MC-1.1+ as AES splitter).

Advantages: