Topic: Understanding OSC messages WRT Totalmix FX

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to make a plugin for Reaper that allows for a more seamless integration with TotalMix FX for my one-room studio. In particular I'm looking to:
1) Have the ability to automatically mute my control room monitors during record (so I don't get monitor bleed on my vocal takes)
2) Have the ability to use hot-keys to mute, dim, or switch to monitor A/B, while Reaper has the control focus
3) Use a fader level in reaper to control a fader level in a submix of totalmix (looking to use direct monitoring from TotalMix for very low latency monitoring, yet have buss effects in Reaper...I have some ideas for how to do this in part with a VST plugin)

I figure that OSC over the loopback address is the best way to accomplish this, but I must admit I'm a complete newb with OSC. I have done some fairly low level socket/network programming before, so I'm not not too worried about that, but I am concerned about the lack of documentation WRT the OSC 'standard'. In particular I was looking to glean some information about RME's implementation in TotalMix FX.

I have the OSC Table for TotalMix FX, and have given a brief look at it. My first question is, what does TotalMix send out on it's port? Does it just send a steady stream of all data, or does it echo what has changed, or is there a way to query  a value? For example, I know that I can only access 8 faders at any given time, but I can move in banks of 8 by using bank+ ... but how do I know what bank I'm on? I can keep track myself, but what if my packet gets dropped. Does TotalMix indicate the current bank selection with a message?

I think tonight I'll do some packet captures just to see what I'm up against, but if anyone has any insight into what sort of messages TotalMix sends back, and at what frequency, that would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Kris

Re: Understanding OSC messages WRT Totalmix FX

Hi Kris