Topic: Help with setup: Digiface USB + Adat VS Fireface UC

Hi! I'm a professional guitar player, and I'm currently using an Audient id22 to record myself because it has great preamps. However, I want to make use of realtime VST's with my guitar, and Audient's latency is unacceptable for live use. So I'm presented with two options:

1 - Keep the id22 and buy a Digiface, using the Audient preamps via ADAT. At 44.1 Khz it should introduce 0,88 ms of latency if I made my calculations right.

2 - Sell the id22 at a loss, and buy a Fireface UC.

My primary concern is latency, sound quality and budget in this order. I work with dancers and the slightest amount of latency would affect my work. Any opinion will be welcome, thank you all!

2 (edited by ramses 2018-04-15 17:00:17)

Re: Help with setup: Digiface USB + Adat VS Fireface UC

Not sure how flexible you are in terms of budget.

The best option IMHO would be to get the UFX II without compromises, as you get then best quality paired with most flexibility
- Latest converter technology with lowest latencies
- new analog circuit design compared to the old flagship interface UFX, best sound
- Durec allows connection of USB stick or harddisk to be able to record either fully stand-alone without PC
or to have a backup running in parallel to survive a potentially hanging PC during a recording session,
shall you make recordings of your life shows
- improved phones outputs
- display allows for fully stand-alone operation in addition to 6 recall-able user presets
- Class Compliance mode allows i.e. connection of iPAD to run either TotalMix FX and / or Cubasis
- FX chip on board
- possibility to connect ARC USB directly to the device
- a powerful 30 channel IN / 30 channel OUT recording interface, which doesnt put any high requirement
on the computer hardware, as 30 channels IN and OUT can easily being transferred via USB2 still.
So you get most flexibilty and do not necessarily require USB3 ...