Topic: Multichannel over Toslink on Fireface UFX

Hi,

What I'm trying to achieve is somehow kind of unique but I've always found a way to make things work with Totalmix FX except for this one.

So let me put it into contexte. I'm a composer for films and video games and I've recently upgraded setup and started to work in 5.1. I spend a long time calibrating and correcting my room and I'm using Sonarworks Reference 4 to correct a few frequency issues from my Front L/R speakers.

Unfortunately, Sonarworks does not offer multichannel support yet so for it to be applied to front L/R in a 5.1 speaker configuration, I need to use a 3rd party standalone plugin called Patchwork and insert the plugin between a digital loop (not to convert twice). In my case, I'm looping  AES Out into AES In and inserting the Reference 4 plugin in between. In patchwork, I'm assigning inputs to AES L/R and outputs to Analog 7/8. I then use totalmix to send software playback of 7/8 to what Main L/R.

Ok so if you're still following me, what I'm trying to achieve is room correction 100% of the time on all sources being played back in the studio.

I need to know if it's possible to feed a multichannel signal such as DTS or Dolby Surround to the fireface's ADAT input and have the 6 individual channels show up in the software playback row of Totalmix FX so I can use my room correction loop on sources like blu-rays or game consoles.

In other words, I need the correction to be applied in all situations whether I'm working or playing back reference material from clients or simply watching a movie in the studio to train my ears.

Thanks for the help. Any suggestions are welcome.

Cheers,

www.francoisbeauvais.com
www.vibeavenue.com

Re: Multichannel over Toslink on Fireface UFX

None of RME's interfaces can encode or decode DTS or Dolby Digital. You would need some type of application that can take the encoded SPDIF stream and decode to PCM multichannel audio.

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.