Topic: Need DA converter for monitoring RayDat - recommendations?

Hi, Newbie here.  I made essentially the same mistake as described on this thread - I neglected to research thoroughly, and seeing the "RCA" connectors on the breakout cable, I "assumed" I would be able to output to my monitor system from there.

Simultaneously, I ordered a Tascam Series 8p Dyna.  Its back panel has 2 ADAT ports, and I "assumed" one was input and the other output.  I was mistaken.  This unit has 2 ADAT outs (for S/MUX functionality), but no digital input or DA conversion.  (In my defense, I looked at a lot of different converter boxes that day, and the all started to run together...)

Anyway, now what do I do?  Sweetwater has a no-questions-asked return policy, so I can return the Tascam unit, but I'd like to keep it, as it got such praise from users for its pres and compressors.  I was thinking down the road I could add something like Behringer ADA8200, to inexpensively expand my 8 channels to 16.  I wasn't planning on spending an additional $300 right now, but I may do it if it will solve my problem.

So, if I get an ADA8200 or other AD/DA converter, can I use it for monitoring, even if I primarily use the Tascam for recording input?  (I realize this may be a dumb question, but I want to be sure before I dig a deeper hole for myself.)

Alternatively, are there inexpensive DA converters out there? 

This may be crazy, but I noticed a Digital-to-Analog converter on Amazon for $15 - it has SPDIF and Toslink inputs, and stereo RCA outputs.  It's made for home entertainment, not pro studio use, but would it work?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Re: Need DA converter for monitoring RayDat - recommendations?

Both the behringer and the cheap amazon will work. The cheap one will not sound perfect but might be good enough anyway. The behringer is also not the best DA but also ok.
The behringer can be had for €160 new if you shop for it I think

Vincent, Amsterdam