1 (edited by hannabrew 2020-08-21 21:19:57)

Topic: Babyface Pro FS with FF800 for extra I/O via ADAT

I have been using a FF800 for the past 15 years or so and have had very few complaints.  That said I have an opportunity to get a Babyface FS Pro for a great price and am debating switching to it for my main interface.

I have a decent amount of IO in my project studio but rarely do I have much more than a couple things actually needed at a time so my original thought was to sell the FF800, get the BF FS Pro and add a patch bay to handle the routing.

However, it looks like I can only get about $500 for the FF and after shipping and eBay fees it's more like $400...for that little return I'm thinking a batter option would be to keep the FF800 and simple use it for all it's IO via ADAT to the BF.

Another bonus is if I need a portable interface I can take the BF and then plug the FireWire cable in to use the FF as my interface in the meantime.

Any reason this would work the way I am envisioning?

Any better options?

Re: Babyface Pro FS with FF800 for extra I/O via ADAT

Sure, you can use the FF800 in stand alone mode as an AD/DA converter, and connect to Babyface Pro via ADAT I/Os

See this old video, this should help to understand the routing you need to do in Totalmix to make the FF800 work as a converter.

https://youtu.be/Oibj81QIq4s

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

3 (edited by hannabrew 2020-08-28 05:59:54)

Thanks for the reply. 

So I was able to get things hooked up so that my first 8 inputs are sent to the babyface via ADAT. 

I have a couple of questions though

1) Based on the video it seems the FF800 should be in standalone mode for this but it is routing just fine with them both plugged in (firewire for FF and USB for BF).  Is there any benefit to having the FF800 in standalone mode?  If not I'd rather keep it plugged in as I can see needing to adjust the routing on it every once in a while.