Topic: Can I do this with an ADI-2?

I'm relatively new to digital recording.

I record a modular analog system.  Currently I record several tracks individually to Sonar, using an Audiophile 2496, and then run them all back out together to an outboard processor (Lexicon MX400) and then back in again. 

I want to decrease the number of times my signal goes through AD DA conversion, and so I'm thinking of buying an ADI-2.  What I'd like to do is AD convert each track up front, then send everything digitally to the Lexicon via SPDIF, through the ADI-2.  Then use the Lexicon SPDIF out to send the processed signal back to my computer, making kind of a triangular signal pathway.  When my soundcard and effect unit receive digital signals, an external clock must be the master, which is why I would have to place the ADI-2 between them.  Does this seem like a reasonable setup?  Will it work?

According to the ADI-2 manual I downloaded, p. 14, there is a sort of cryptic (to me, anyway) reference to a D-D mode -- does this mean digital in to digital out?

Thanks,

Rich

Re: Can I do this with an ADI-2?

The 2496 has SPDIF I/O and can not use its internal clock then? I can't believe that. But if so, then the ADI-2 can be external master and also has an D-D mode with analog monitoring.

Regards
Matthias Carstens
RME

3 (edited by richg 2008-06-28 16:19:49)

Thank you for your reply, Matthias.  That information is helpful and encouraging. 

FYI,

From the audiophile 2496 manual:

"For proper operation, the entire Audiophile 2496 system is always synchronized to a
single master clock. The master clock is chosen via the Delta Control Panel software
and this clock may be derived from either the Audiophile 2496?s internal crystal
oscillators or from S/PDIF In. Most of the time the master clock is taken from the
internal crystal oscillators. However, the S/PDIF option must be used in situations
where the Audiophile 2496 is monitoring or recording from the S/PDIF input port."