Topic: Babyface Pro FS custom setup without running TotalMix every time

I'm new to the Babyface Pro FS, but I haven't been able to find an answer to this. There is a default setup that it starts with when turned on. Is there any way to change what that is? It seems that TotalMix remembers my last state and immediately sets that up when I run it, but that means I have to run TotalMix every time I turn on the interface. I've tried using snapshots, but those don't seem to get saved to the device.

Is there really no way to have it start up with a different setup?

2 (edited by waedi 2021-03-19 21:39:24)

Re: Babyface Pro FS custom setup without running TotalMix every time

... It seems that TotalMix remembers my last state and immediately sets that up when I run it...

Is this not already the solution for your problem ?
You make your configurations and routings once and next time it is there, ready to use.
...I've tried using snapshots, but those don't seem to get saved to the device.
I remember from another thread that the Babyface is not storing Totalmix situations (workspace or snapshots)inside the device, it is stored on the computer.
This is good because the BF is designed as a portable solution.
You go to a recording session to somewhere and when you come back to your own studio you will be very happy to find the old situation in Totalmix.

M1-Sequoia, Madiface Pro, Digiface USB, Babyface silver and blue

I disagree that that's the best solution. With so many features and potential use cases, it seems odd to assume that one particular setup is the right default for everybody.

My main issue us that I want to run the computer playback to the optical output, but I also can't seem to control that on the Babyface itself. It would be nice to have that routing there all the time, without having to run TotalMix every time. It's not the end of the world, it's just surprising that a powerful interface like this would be lacking such a basic feature.