Topic: The ABC's of ADI-2 DAC VOL Control

Hi,

I know nothing about audio-engineering.  I am a programmer.  I tried reading through the manual without much success (have already read page 63 - didn't understand much).  I find the vol control on the ADI-2 very interesting, and I was hoping you can help me understand how it works.  I feel that I don't understand the very basic concepts so I can't even being to understand what is laid out in the manual.  I hope to learn these concepts - it is pretty interesting...

Before my questions here is my setup (as a way to provide context - sorry if it is not helpful):
* PC hooked up to ADI-2 DAC via USB
* ADI-2 DAC connected to (integrated) Hegel 190 via balanced output
* (not sure if this helps) but I have atc 40 (passive) speakers

When I adjust the main volume control on the ADI-2 a couple of things (that I can see) start to happen:
* dbr measurements changes in +/-0.5 steps
* dbu measurement changes in steps of +/-6 (at certain dbr thresholds)

WHAT is DBR:
--------------------
* I learnt this morning that decibel can either be an absolute value or express change in value.  I assume dbr is displaying change in value. 
* What does 0 dbr signify?  Does it mean that at 0 dbr the DAC is not changing the volume and the signal is just being passed to my amp?  or  0 dbr is the loudest level before distortion kick in?
* Currently I have it set to -15 dbr...what does that mean?  Does that mean the DAC is changing the volume to less than the reference setting?

WHAT is DBU:
--------------------
* Regurgitating what I've read dbu relates decibel to voltage...simply put higher dbu means more voltage?
* if dbu describes the relationship of decibel to voltage then why doesn't the dbu change (in 0.5 steps) as I change the dbr (in 0.5 steps)?