Topic: Conversion - UFX+ vs ADI-2 FS R

Hi!
I currently run RME UFX+ on a PC under Windows 10, and my DAW is Cubase.
As a volume controller I use a Heritage Audio RAM System 2000.
My room is fairly but not perfectly treated, and my main monitors are Focal Twin 6.
I'm not a pro, but I have done this for many years.

Now I'm curious about getting an ADI-2 FS R, but I'm not sure if it's worth the money since it's hard to find any reviews that compare UFX+ vs ADI-2 FS R. Is there anyone here who has compared the conversions on those two side by side and is there any noticable leap in DAC quality to be expected?

Also I'm not that technical when it comes to connecting interfaces together and have a question about that.
Since you only can use one soundcard at a given time under windows 10 and Cubase - how do I connect the ADI-2 FS R to my UFX+ if I want to monitor through the ADI-2 FS R at the same time as I record stuff through UFX+? Via S/PDIF I guess, but is there any other way since my S/PDIF's are all in use. I'd also want to use the input on ADI-2 for my master bus outboard.

Any thoughts and opinions?

2 (edited by ramses 2022-01-03 09:34:51)

Re: Conversion - UFX+ vs ADI-2 FS R

I own two ADI-2 Pro FS R BE:
- one in combination with UFX+ (through AES) in the recording corner
- one in front of a High-End HiFi

It's a phantastic device and I am very satisfied with these units, I can only recommend it.

You can find information about it in my blog:
- Integration into your setup through AES or ADAT, as you prefer: https://www.tonstudio-forum.de/blog/ind … our-Setup/
- Information about the different models and differences in feature set: https://www.tonstudio-forum.de/blog/ind … ses-EN-DE/

Sound wise .. I own both devices, but have no possibility for quick A/B testing / blind test.