Topic: Aio pro expansion

Hello.

I have been using aio pro for 6 months and am really happy with the device. However, I need more i/o.

My goal is to record atleast 4 sources at once(preferably 5+). 2 can be line level inputs that I use now on aio pro. Other 2 inputs must have quality preamps.

- Rme website says AIO has 1i/o for adat, 1 i/o spdif and 1 i/o aes/ebu. I am new to digital audio formats and am wonsering what is the best way to expand on the aio pro? Will I be able to use adat and spdif simultaneously or parallel as I only see 1 optical in and 1 optical out.

Right now there is a 2nd hand babyface fs pro for sale nearby so I was thinking of buying it and connecting via adat.
-If I go this route, will I run into problems while routing between daw, aio pro and babyface fs? For example when simultaneously recording/monitoring on BF.

How I see this right now:

Recording setup:

mic->pre->aio pro xlr>daw

Guitar dry->bf pro fs->        |
Guitar wet L->bf pro fs->    |---->aio pro adat>daw
Guitar wet R->bf pro fs->    |

Mix/master setup:

Daw->aio pro xlr out->outboard/analog chain->aio pro xlr in->daw

-What device would be nice to add through aes/ebu to fully utilize on the aio pro i/o and enhance my mix/master workflow?

Thank you for taking your time to help me.

Re: Aio pro expansion

Hello!

rvdetk wrote:

Will I be able to use adat and spdif simultaneously or parallel as I only see 1 optical in and 1 optical out

You can use Optical ADAT and SPDIF co-axial(from the breakout cable) I/Os, simultaneously!
You could, also, use Optical I/Os as SPDIF, if you configure this in the Driver Settings!

rvdetk wrote:

-If I go this route, will I run into problems while routing between daw, aio pro and babyface fs? For example when simultaneously recording/monitoring on BF.

No, just keep in mind that you will have 2 TMFX windows open(one for each interface) for taking care of the routing!

rvdetk wrote: