Topic: How do you connect, Spdif Coaxial cable into UFX ii digitally?

Hello, when I am checking the rear of UFX ii, I see no coaxial (?) inputs/ dedicated Spidif input/output..?

Um, I have SPL Machine Head digital unit that has Spidif in/out.

How can I utilize this in/out with ADAT2 set as Spidif on UFX ii USB setting..?

I am now, currently using AES/EBU for my Genelec digital monitor speakers unfortunately..

Thank you so much in advance,
I am very new to digital connection so please execuse my ignorance.

I simply don't know which cables to purchase, I prefer keep these digital Spidif cables connected. (set and forget)

Cheers.

Re: How do you connect, Spdif Coaxial cable into UFX ii digitally?

SPDIF coaxial to optical converter - small and cheap box, easily available. Or use the SDIF to AES cable described in the UFX II manual.

Regards
Matthias Carstens
RME

Thank you! I checked a few posts mentioning, coaxial to spdif converter <-- but I was skeptical about it, so just wanted a confirmation. Thanks, I fully get it now smile

*Then I just change ADAT 2 setup as SPIDIF on Fireface USB setting app on mac smile

Thanks!

MC wrote:

SPDIF coaxial to optical converter - small and cheap box, easily available. Or use the SDIF to AES cable described in the UFX II manual.

Hello, I just bought cheap bi-directional toslink-spdif converter.. but.. strange enough, I get the exactly the same sound as source even though my middle Outboard gear is showing good metering of saturation and all (SPL Machine Head). I connected through S/PDIF..

What did I do wrong... here?

Also Totalmix does not show SPDIF channel... but I guess, AES <-- is SPDIF...? because I fed signal on AES channel and SPL Machine Head receives it well. But returning input sounds non-affected....

very odd!

The UFX II has one SPDIF receiver. You can use XLR or optical as input, but not both. That shouldn't be an issue with your use case. SPDIF optical is shown on the AES channel.