1 (edited by x.dusee 2023-03-23 09:48:33)

Topic: ADI-2/4 Pro SE vs ADI-2 Pro Fs r black edition

Hi guys, i am new to the forum, and a wanted some information before i make my choice for one of these 2 units.

I am a in the box producer, using FL Studio. I have a headphone amp Topping A30-Pro, and use the DT1990 pro's.

I want to use RME as my main DAC to produce on directly from my Imac 27".

Now the question is, i see that the black edition has only got one pair of balanced stereo XLR outputs. And one pair of TS unbalanced outputs on the back.

If i decide to hook up an extra set of monitor speakers to AB on in the future, this can only be done via the TS connection, unbalanced on the Black edition?

Will i notice the difference in balanced and unbalanced output?

And is this the main reason to go for the ADI-2/4 Pro Se? Besides the new specs and Vinyl recording feature.

Hope you guys can help me out, because i cannot wait to get my hands on one of these, thanks in advance.

Re: ADI-2/4 Pro SE vs ADI-2 Pro Fs r black edition

The ADI-2/4 has the advantage that the 2nd DAC can drive the rear TS1/2 separately.
Interesting for people who need this either for sub or for a separate mastering chain.

My advice to you is to get a combination of recording interface and either ADI-2 Pro FS or ADI-2/4 Pro FS R.
This way you have a lot more of flexibility for routing and other things.

See this article in my blog about the integration of ADI-2 DAC/Pro into your setup:
https://www.tonstudio-forum.de/blog/Ent … our-Setup/

BR Ramses - UFX III, 12Mic, XTC, ADI-2 Pro FS R BE, RayDAT, X10SRi-F, E5-1680v4, Win10Pro22H2, Cub13

Addition: Both ADI-2 and 2/4 have balanced TRS in the back.

Regards
Matthias Carstens
RME

ramses wrote:

The ADI-2/4 has the advantage that the 2nd DAC can drive the rear TS1/2 separately.
Interesting for people who need this either for sub or for a separate mastering chain.