Topic: Running ADI-2 DAC from my power supply?

I have an old Musical Fidelity X-PSU and I'd like to use it to power the ADI-2 DAC. I need to be able to cut the power without turning off every other connection in the room. I've tried using it but the ADI-2 DAC is stuck on the red circle and won't boot. I'm not very good with electronics so I'm not sure if there is a mismatch somewhere that's causing the problem. Everything obviously works with the standard RME cables. https://www.musicalfidelity.com/uploads … h/xpsu.pdf

2 (edited by lewis71980 2023-05-30 20:00:53)

Re: Running ADI-2 DAC from my power supply?

Hi there looking at the manual it says the output of that PSU Four @ 12V AC 20VA and the ADI-2 DAC requires 9-15v DC. So that's why it isn't working.

AC = Alternating Current
DC = Direct Current

In general it’s a bad habit to plug random PSUs in devices.

The ADI-2 has some protections against over voltage and reversed polarity, but their effect is limited.
There’s even an internal, non-user-replaceable fuse inside.
If it breaks, you have to send ADI-2 in for repair.

If ADI-2 boots with it’s dedicated PSU nothing bad has happen at this point.

Interesting test:
But it would probably have been carried out by some other people as well. I asked about it. The reason given was the design of the X-PSU.

In the ADI-2 DAC, a negative voltage is blocked by a diode. The ADI-2 DAC was therefore operated with a pulsating DC voltage: approx. 18 V max. with a frequency of 25 or 30 Hz (1/2 of mains frequency).

JPS70 wrote:

I have an old Musical Fidelity X-PSU and I'd like to use it to power the ADI-2 DAC.

An X-PSU (only toroidal transformer) could drive an ADI-2 DAC via an AC-DC linear regulator (output approx. 10V).

By the way, you can laugh with us here - a toroidal transformer (X-PSU) is said to be able to "do magic":