Topic: ADI-2 DAC FS and Feliks Audio Headphones Amp

Hello folks. I've been using the RME for a few years now, and I absolutely love it. I use it daily with the Focal Utopia HPs as well as Buchardt A500's.

I'm looking into possibly introducing the Feliks Audio Envy tube amp into my chain. I will connect my headphones to the Envy's 6.3mm headphone output. I was wondering how to best setup the RME. The Feliks Audio Envy has XLR (Balanced) input. And it seems to me that it'll be best to connect those to the RME's balanced XLR outputs. If this is accurate, are there particular RME settings I should configure? I'd like to use the Feliks Envy volume knob. Below are some stats from the Envy's user manual. I'd greatly appreciate your advice!

Salter.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION
Power tubes: 300B
Driver tubes: CV-181 (6SN7)
1x balanced XLR input (IN3)
2x unbalanced RCA inputs (IN1, IN2)

Input impedance:
For IN3 (XLR) 10kΩ
1x pair of pre-amplifier output as RCA

Here's a link to the Feliks Audio PDF: https://feliksaudio.pl/wp-content/uploa … -pdfA4.pdf

2 (edited by KaiS 2023-06-27 23:34:55)

Re: ADI-2 DAC FS and Feliks Audio Headphones Amp

Look here for a general advice, “Case 1” would be the requested configuration:
https://forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.ph … 21#p161721

I’d even consider to “bypass” the Felixs Audio Envy’s volume control - no matter how good an analog potentiometer is, it always introduces some nasty distortions.

To “bypass” the volume control, bring it full up.
Set Envy’s gain switch to minimum position and use ADI-2’s digital volume control + Auto Ref Level for best results (“Case 2”).

KaiS wrote:

Look here for a general advice, “Case 1” would be the requested configuration:

I’d even consider to “bypass” the Felixs Audio Envy’s volume control - no matter how good an analog potentiometer is, it always introduces some nasty distortions.