Topic: Pairing Fireface 802 FS to Audient asp 800, ADAT advice please

Hello guys

I`m trying to pair Fireface 802 FS to Audient asp 800 via ADAT

I am new to both RME and Audient, would like to ask for advice on setting up this system

Would like to have the Audient as slave to the Fireface so I can set sample rate from Logic/RME on the computer

I usually record on 48Khz/24 bits, but sometimes I need to work on projects at 44.1 Khz, that´s why is important for me to be able to change settings easily from the computer

My setup details:

Macbok pro Intel 2019 / 64 gb RaM / OS 12.6.7 Monterey
Fireface 802 FS: Firmware v221 / driver v4.08
Logic Pro 10.7.9

For what I read looks like I might need a BNC cable beside the optical one?

Thanks in advance

2 (edited by ramses 2023-08-28 11:19:30)

Re: Pairing Fireface 802 FS to Audient asp 800, ADAT advice please

Its always the same story with clock synch, product independend and we had zillions of threads to such topics.

You can avoid WC if you take the audient as clock master, RME devices are the perfect clock slave due to SteadyClock technology which takes any jitter out of a clock signal.

Then you only need one or two ADAT cables (depending on whether you want single or double speed for the 8 channels).

Wordclock would require a separate cabling which is not needed as wordclock wouldn't bring any advantage (no better clock quality, nothing in that range).

802 --- ADAT1 IN------------------------ADAT OUT---Audient
        clock slave                               clock master

If you want to control the sample rate by the computer / DAW, then you need Word clock cabling between 802 and audient because the Audient has no other digital inputs ....

802 --- ADAT1 IN------------------------ADAT OUT---Audient
        clock master                                clock master slave (WC)
            |----------------------WC cabling--------------|