1 (edited by theoberdri 2023-09-12 09:47:07)

Topic: Recording pre amp with ADI 2 PRO

Hello everyone,

I've just ordered an ADI 2 PRO FS but I think I made a mistake.

I'm a guitarist and I use a Fractal Audio AXE FX III as amp/FP modeling and I'm recording it for my song.

If my AXE FX XLRs out goes into the analog inputs of my ADI 2 PRO can I listen to it in Logic Pro ? FYI my speakers will be connected to ADI 2 Pro outputs.

Also, can I like use and record some VST (piano, drums...) and listening to it ?

I know ADI 2 PRO FS isn't an audio interface but I saw people using it for recording some don't so it makes me anxious...

Regards
Théo

2 (edited by waedi 2023-09-12 10:53:06)

Re: Recording pre amp with ADI 2 PRO

You will have to set the ADI in multichannel CC-mode.
Logic output channels 1/2 will play thru the loudspeakers.
If you want a different signal on the headphones (output channels 3/4) then the routing in Logic will be a bit more complex, but possible.
From what you wrote a UFX lll or a UCX ll would fit better.

M1-Sonoma, Madiface Pro, Digiface USB, Babyface silver and blue

waedi wrote:

You will have to set the ADI in multichannel CC-mode.
Logic output channels 1/2 will play thru the loudspeakers.
If you want a different signal on the headphones (output channels 3/4) then the routing in Logic will be a bit more complex, but possible.
From what you wrote a UFX lll or a UCX ll would fit better.

Yes my goal is just to listen to my AXE FX through the ADI PRO that goes into the speakers with a strict minimum latency. I don't use any headphone while playing or recording.
I can record/listen both ADI 2 PRO input at the same time right ?

4 (edited by waedi 2023-09-12 14:07:21)

Yes, from what I understand out of the user manual this basic audio interface functionality is available via CC-mode.
Just connect the USB cable to the computer

M1-Sonoma, Madiface Pro, Digiface USB, Babyface silver and blue

waedi wrote: