1 (edited by electdaw 2023-10-04 22:21:45)

Topic: PCIe,PSU, Earth, common ground issue = noise!

hello

I have been using RME products for maybe 15 years, from 9636/52 , 9632, Raydat and now an AIO and I love them allot.

However, I have been having trouble with system noise, such as  mouse movement windows open, rendering files) mainly from the headphone out but also the unbalanced RCA (not so much with RCA as we can set hot levels) but with in-ear,  low impedance headphones it is very bad, in fact!!

Test room is very quite, no fan noise, all fans were reduced to almost inaudible levels for the test , so we can hear well.

2 x AIO's 
3 x PC's
3 x sets of various impedance headphones,

we were able to test various configurations and have found some interesting things.

we have gone as far as using 'insulation tape' wrapped around the AIO mounting bracket, so to isolate
the AIO from the chassis (As mains Earth is bolted to the Chassis of the internal PSU)

In the UK we have Earth in all our mains sockets/outlets, this is then connected to the chassis of the ATX  PSU. (standard) and that PSU is then connected with 4 conductive bolts/screws to the chassis of the PC and the AIO is also bolted directly to the chassis of the PC. So, the AIO has two grounds connected, the Earth from mains and the ground from the output of the PSU.

All my ATX PSU's have these 4 screws.

The AIO is designed to be used inside an ATX chassis and use ATX PSU's yet, there seems to be an issue with (common) ground.

1. when I power up the PC with the AIO bolted to the PCIe slot ( as it should be) and with all 4 screws of the PSU tightly connected to the PC chassis( as it should be) the interference noise is quite loud with various windows open and rendering.