Topic: UCXii adding I/O via ADAT

I would like to add more ins/outs to my UCXii, via ADAT to use with outboard FX.

I was thinking of purchasing a second hand Fireface 800. Would I be able to utilise all 8 ins and 8 outs, and would this change if I increase sample rate from 48khz to 96khz?

Is there a better or cheaper option to increase my I/O? I don't need additional mic pres, only line ins/outs. I have read also that channels reduce if receiving a double speed signal. How can I ensure the unit I obtain is not running ADAT at double speed?

Apologies for the basic questions, I have never used ADAT before! Thank you in advance.

2 (edited by waedi 2023-11-03 11:13:26)

Re: UCXii adding I/O via ADAT

Yes, by changing the sample rate from 48 to 96 kHz the channels are only 4 ins and outs instead of 8.
That is double speed.
As long the external Adat unit is set to 44.1 or 48 kHz you have single speed and 8 channels,
The Behringer Ada8200 is a good low-budget unit for your demand.
https://www.thomann.de/de/behringer_ada … tm?ref=wil

M1-Sonoma, Madiface Pro, Digiface USB, Babyface silver and blue

3 (edited by Kubrak 2023-11-03 13:17:44)

You also could use FF UC/UCX (maybe also  FF 400, I have not checked),  if you do not mind to have two chanels unbalanced, or if 6 ballanced would do.

If using USB (not for FF 400) you could also attach it to computer directly and you would have 8 more analog channels even on 96k.  The only drawback would be that the would be independent in TotalMix. But still, you could route ADAT channels also to UCXII, and have them in TM (either all 8 at 44/48k or selected 4 in 96k).

DAW would see the both interfaces as one.

I'll disregard the Behringer as it has the inputs on the front which would not suit connecting to the outboard in my rack.

I think it makes sense economically (and aesthetically!) to go for a second hand FF800 which appear to sell for not much more second hand.