Topic: Fireface UC in the near future, bye MOTU

Hi everyone, I plan on purchasing an RME Fireface UC very soon. It was the last straw with my MOTU MK3. I have heard very good things about RME devices, and I've wanted one for a long time. So I have returned my MK3 for a full refund and will be saving up for the difference. I have no interface now and I am drooling over this thing.
In the mean time I was reading about custom GUI's that people are creating and I think it is verrry cool! I wanted to try and make my own custom GUI. Probably starting off with a template of the original Totalmix skin, or someone's that has been posted up. Is it as simple as opening the bmp pictures from one of the skins into Adobe Photoshop and editing the picture the way you want? For example using hue and saturation, color, contrast, and using you're own fonts? 
I started practicing designing one and I think I am doing it right. I just modified one of the RME designed ones someone posted up. All I did was switch meter level colors, and faders to start. If somebody could give me some details on how they design a custom skin I would really appreciate it. I look forward to getting my Fireface UC, and it is going to be a long month.   Thanks for you're attention!

They should put you in a glass jar.

Re: Fireface UC in the near future, bye MOTU

Thats interesting you are returning a MK3, since MOTU devices are usually quite reliable.  Some people never have any problem with them.  So what happened?  Did it cause some crashes?  I'm also interested in why you think the UC is a solution since you don't have one yet.