1 (edited by rehkram 2010-03-21 07:41:49)

Topic: My signal chain, getting there, PC stereo playback

Hi folks,

I have a new (old stock, serial number is 22897852) Raydat card, fed by a fairly recently acquired HD24XR, and am pretty happy so far, have traversed a lot of the learning curve. It has taken me a week to get to this point, I'm studio savvy but old school I guess, though I am a programmer by profession so should be able to put this all together.

I have a question, perhaps you can help. Here is the signal chain, all is working:

Input to the DAW:
Mackie Onyx 24-4 analog outs channels 1 thru 12 ->
HD24 analog ins x 12 recording at 96K ->
HD24 digital outs x (3 ports x 4 channels, since channel count is halved MX'ing at 96K) ->
Raydat ins x (3 ports x 4 ch) ->
Vista 32 hosting Reaper (while testing, or whatever future DAW s/w and platform I decide on), input channels assigned to ADAT 1 thru 10 (not sure why only 10 not 12, Reaper is limiting me to creating 10 but that's another issue)

Output from the DAW:
Reaper output channels assigned to ADAT 1 thru 10
Raydat outs x (3 ports x 4 ch)
HD24 digital ins (3 ports x 4 ch)
HD24 analog outs x 12
Mackie analog ins channels 13 thru 24

All OK so far. RME's DSP Settings dialog looks fine, TotalMix looks as expected, I can track channels 1 thru 10 to to the DAW from the HD24's playback via Raydat. I can also playback all 10 tracks on individual channels from Reaper via Raydat, to the HD24 and then to the board channels 13 thru 22 I've set up as returns. Since it's not an inline console and has no tape returns "flip switch" I've dedicated the remaining 12 channel strips for the returns.