Topic: FF800 + Sonar 8.5 + win7 64bits + Ricoh Firewire = weird problem

Hi everyone !
I'm a bit new to sound recording, and i'm experiencing some problems i can't understand.
Despite bad firewire support, my FF800 seems to work on my laptop with ricoh firewire.
I can record without clicks and with low latency.
BUT
Once i tested everything and checked it worked (playing some drums for 5 minutes)... I decided to record a rehearsal with my band.
As soon as the volume gets high, it didn't record anymore.
I had Blue Screens (BSOD), my computer got stuck a few times etc...

Is there something to try?
I didn't change any parameters except i switched to ASIO in sonar (WDM doesn't work).

Re: FF800 + Sonar 8.5 + win7 64bits + Ricoh Firewire = weird problem

More details, please. I've not heard of recordings stopping or even BSODs because of high volume...

Regards
Daniel Fuchs
RME

Regards
Daniel Fuchs
RME

If you have 4-pin mini FW on the notebook (or worse, 6-pin to 4-pin adapter) maybe the drums are causing the connector to move. Mine would lose connection with any slight touch (on an older XP laptop), these 4-pin connections are pretty flaky.

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

What is the blue screen message?

What latency? Have you updated 1394b driver with hotfix? What other hardware are there in your system? Any IRQ conflicts?
In Sonar: what audio options do you tried?

-Panu

sonarmods.com

5 (edited by alex84xela 2010-06-04 08:28:21)

First I am sorry not having posted all the details.

So first i have to say i just wanted to gather informations about things to try while I can't try anything, my band is on tour. I will check all the suggestions i can gather next month.