Topic: Harware insert with pro tools 9

Hi everybody, just got my fireface ufx yesterday!
I use pro tools 9 and I usually mix with an hardware ssl G-comp as hardware insert on the master buss, now, if instert it for ex on 5-6 input-output I ear the correspondent output in totalmix flanging with the output of pro tools, but if I mute the output 5-6 then nothing goes to the comp.
I am totally new to the totalmix , can any one help me?

Thanks

Giacomo

Re: Harware insert with pro tools 9

Please read here for a possible work around: http://www.rme-audio.de/forum/viewtopic.php?id=9314

best regards
Knut

I' ve already readed before posting, mine is a differend case, I am cool with muting the track when overdubbing, we are doing the same everyday in the studio where I work with pt and analog desk.
My problem is with hardware insert in pro tools and how to configure the total mix to not play from main outs(or the other outs for my second monitor system) the signal send to my hardware compressor (sended for ex through 5-6)..

Thank you

Giacomo

in totalmix - make sure that your playback ch 5-6 dont got to your master (monitoring) outputs. that might work.

I´am not sure I understand your setup and routing. You use the compressor as hardware insert for some Pro Tools submix and send it out via playback channel 5/6 >> outputs 5/6 >> compressor >> inputs 5/6 >> Pro Tools + Mix with other tracks >> Main out/Speaker B?

If yes, than it´s right to disable the routing of playback 5/6 AND the input channels 5/6 to Main out / Speaker B.

best regards
Knut

Yes that s the setup, basically i use hardware insert because i have the comp followed by plug ins, I ll try once i finish work

Thank you very mutch!

Just another thing, but I think is the same, I don't send via sub mix but I use the hardware-insert option of pro tools,meaning that I insert the compressor like a plug in a slot of the master channel

I don't send via sub mix but I use the hardware-insert option of pro tools