Topic: 16 channels of 24/192 with ufx

I am new to digital recording. I have a UFX which I plan to connect to a PC thru firewire running Protools 9.  As I read it the UFX will pass 16 channels of 24/192.  To do this i must/can input an additional four 24/192 channels. Two thru the AES inputs and two thru an ADAT input (quad speeded).

My questions are:

Can I use ADAT 1 and ADAT 2 inputs for four channels of 24/192?

What would be the best RME devices to use to add the four 24/192 channels-on a price/performqnce basis-two Babyfaces?

Should I/can I run another device into the PC's USB while the UFX goes thru the firewire input and "merge" somehow in Pro Tools? 

Forgive my ignorance I have decades of analogue mixing experience but no digital background.

BB

Thank You!

Re: 16 channels of 24/192 with ufx

Can I use ADAT 1 and ADAT 2 inputs for four channels of 24/192?

Yes. Both inputs could be used as ADAT input with S/MUX4 and 192 kHz. This will reduce the number of channels from 8 to 2 in every input. Keep in mind that the 2nd optical I/O will only work alternative to the AES/EBU I/O when used as SPDIF I/O.

What would be the best RME devices to use to add the four 24/192 channels-on a price/performqnce basis-two Babyfaces?

This is an interesting idea. But the perfect companion for the UFX is the ADI-8 QS. This is RME's no-compromise high-end converter. The QS can transmit 4 channels of 24/192 via two ADAT ports or 8 via AES/EBU. Two Babyfaces should be work in theory with S/MUX4 and the UFX, but this is a very creative setup, which will need three USB ports.

Should I/can I run another device into the PC's USB while the UFX goes thru the firewire input and "merge" somehow in Pro Tools?