1 (edited by n00btrax 2023-01-03 01:14:36)

Topic: Don't really understand the RME offerings and need some help choosing

I could do with some help choosing an interface. I'm not a professional by any means, but I know some stuff. I keep being told that RME have the best latency and stability due to their custom drivers. That is what interests me. But I'm used to seeing interfaces chock full of microphone inputs, and many of the RME offerings only have 2 or 4.

I don't run a studio or anything. I just guerilla record in whatever rooms I can cheaply get my hands on. Either with a laptop, or I take my desktop there. Here are the two scenarios I work in.

When tracking drums:

1.    Kick In
    2.    Kick Out
    3.    Snare Top Dynamic
    4.    Snare Top Condenser
    5.    Snare Bottom
    6.    Floor Tom Low
    7.    Floor Tom High
    8.    Mid Tom
    9.    High Tom
    10.    Overhead Left
    11.    Overhead Right
    12.    Room Left
    13.    Room Right
    14.    Far Room Left
    15.    Far Room Right
    16.    Mono Kit

When working at home:

1.    Guitar cab microphone
    2.    Vocal microphone
    3.    Bass Station II Line Input
    4.    Spare Synth Input 2
    5.    Spare Synth Input 3
    6.    Spare Synth Input 4
    7.    Guitar HI-Z
    8.    Bass Hi-Z

So ultimately, I need 16 microphone pre's across some kind configuration. My computer does have Thunderbolt, but I just read that the UFX+ has been EOL'd due to parts anyway, so I guess I can forget about Thunderbolt for now.

I don't really know what MADI is. So I see those products and have no idea how to utilise them.

My chief concerns are stability, latency, number of microphone pre's, having some line-outs for reamping purposes, and a smattering of line and Hi-Z inputs for guitars and basses and things.

What sort of setup would you recommend??

I currently have a Presonus Quantum. I mostly record rock, metal, IDM, electronica, piano music, industrial, ambient, and found sounds.