Topic: Simple explanation for midi control????

Hi all.  I've been working with midi for 25 years,  have setup many controllers to work with DAWs and digital mixers. I'm running loop midi to create virtual ports,  and then routing them with midi ox , etc.

I've never encountered anything like the instructions for midi control of total mix fx. What is a hex? A decimal? I only want to accomplish a couple of simple commands

I want to toggle mute on the master fader.

I want to toggle mute on channel 11.

Can anyone explain how to accomplish this with the terms I understand,  such as.

Midi channel
Midi note number
Velocity
Midi cc
Midi cc value

I'd love it if I could get a better understanding of how this works,  but failing that,  just a clear list of commands would be amazing,  and my Google searches haven't gotten me anywhere.

Thanks in advance for any help you all can offer

2 (edited by waedi 2023-08-22 19:47:00)

Re: Simple explanation for midi control????

https://i.ibb.co/5cfFyYy/Bildschirmfoto-2023-08-22-um-20-34-11.png

These commands have to go over Midi-channel 1

For the channel 11 ( input channel or output channel ?)
you have to do this in Totalmix and save it as a snapshot, then recall that snapshot from the piano note from the list above.

You can ignore hex, Hexadecimal system numbering is used in sysex programming you probably don't need that.
Without knowing your interface, I just screenshotted the list out of the user manual Babyface Pro FS, it's related to Totalmix in general.

M1-Sonoma, Madiface Pro, Digiface USB, Babyface silver and blue

Adding a comment to note, the MIDI notes need to be maximum velocity for MIDI control.

Regards,
Jeff Petersen
Synthax Inc.

I appreciate you guys chiming in trying to help. I'm running a UFX FWIW.