1 (edited by kwk86 2023-08-31 09:14:53)

Topic: ADI-2 DAC FS: Audible noise increase by EQ?

Hi there,

as a newbie I would like to find out as to why I sometimes hear some background noise. Streaming from Qobuz, I can hear a bit of background noise (almost like white noise) in about 40% of the titles.

So the first question is why there is this noise in the first place? My line of thought here is that any recording glitches etc. may be audible due to the extreme high solution of my Stax SR-009.
Secondly, why is this noise increased by the EQ? If there is this noise, it even gets audibly louder if i turn on the EQ. It would not vanish completely but get notably smaller in volume if EQ is turned off.

Deets of my headphone chain:
Bluesound Node N130 with LPS --> USB out --> ADI-2 DAC FS --> XLR out --> High-Amp Alpha Centauri -> Stax SR-009

Thanks and kind regards!

Bluesound Node N130 with PD Creative LPS > RME ADI-2 Dac > High_Amp Alpha Centauri > Stax SR-009

Re: ADI-2 DAC FS: Audible noise increase by EQ?

Does this issue also occur with other sources (CDs or the like)?

Regards
Daniel Fuchs
RME

I will check this with a couple of CDs and get back to you. Thanks.

Bluesound Node N130 with PD Creative LPS > RME ADI-2 Dac > High_Amp Alpha Centauri > Stax SR-009

How about with coax out from the BS Node? Or even optical, to avoid any galvanic connection?

5 (edited by KaiS 2023-08-31 12:05:18)

kwk86 wrote:

...why is this noise increased by the EQ? If there is this noise, it even gets audibly louder if i turn on the EQ. It would not vanish completely but get notably smaller in volume if EQ is turned off.

The noise might already be present in the recording.
The fact that it’s recording dependent strongly points on that.
If you have very good hearing ability you might detect it.

Or is it dependent on the sample rate, have a look at the lower right corner in the main display?

The noise might even origin from some interfacing problem.