1 (edited by copilcos 2023-10-14 13:45:24)

Topic: ADI 2 FS - UFX1 please help with routing suggestion

Good day RME professionals. Thanks in advance for any help you could give me.
I am new to the ADI converters, I just acquired the ADI-2 FS and my question is if I am using it right.

I use my UFX gen 1 (I allways work in 96kHz) to route through this way:

ADAT 1 and 2 and all 8 analog outputs to a summing mixer (16 channels)
then send its stereo output to an analog EQ and then to a Mix buss Processor.
From the Master Buss Processor, I am connecting it to the ADI 2 FS through its XLR ins.

My monitors are connected to the XLR outputs of the ADI 2 FS.

The AES out  of the UFX is connected to the coax in in the ADI 2 FS.
The coax out of the ADI 2 FS is connected to the AES in of the UFX.

I don't understand how can/should I route things in Totalmix in order to hear and take advantage of the superior conversion the ADI 2 FS offers compared to the one of the UFX Gen1, and which are the best settings in the ADI's front panel for this type of work....or if I have to use ANA mode (Analog loop-though mode)? Or if there is another and better option.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks friends.

p.d. Under my identifier I don't know why it says AD DA expert...I am no expert whatsoever!! ;-)

2 (edited by ramses 2023-10-14 14:33:06)

Re: ADI 2 FS - UFX1 please help with routing suggestion

Do you use TM FX control room?

Then click to "Assign" Button and assign "Main Out" to the output where the ADI-2 Pro is connected to.

Then in submix mode click to the HW output "Main Out" in the control room and move the fader of all HW inputs and SW playbacks (top and middle row) to create the submix that you want.

If you only want to route audio from the PC to Main Out then use:
Options -> Reset Mix -> Straight playback with all to Main Out

Information how to use TotalMix FX with suggestions and links to RME video tutorials etc:
https://forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=34394