1 (edited by martincost 2023-12-19 16:46:56)

Topic: Are signal qualities maintained when using UFXiii hardware routing?

Just bought a UFXiii and waiting for it to arrive - upgrading from a FR18i20. As I'll have more channels to play with (one more ADAT or possibly MADI), I'm thinking of using the UFXiii and Totalmix to remove my hardware patchbay and constant cable switching. But I'm no expert on signal levels (line, instrument, impedence etc.). I think my question can be boiled down to two examples...

Current routing I use for recording guitar/bass:    Instrument>>DI Box>>UAD OX or Sansamp

My thought for a flexible routing with TotalMix: Instrument>>UFX input>>UFX output>>DI Box>>UFX input>>UFX output>>UAD Ox or another UFX output to Sansamp

Current routing for re-amping:    DAW playback on hardware output>>Re-Amp box>>UAD Ox or Sansamp

Proposed: DAW Playback>>UFX output>> Re-Amp box>>UFX input>>UFX output>>UAD Ox or another UFX output to Sansamp

In other words, I want to use the DI box and the Re-amp box as hardware inserts so that I can have the flexibility to send their signals to different destinations controlled by TotalMix routings. The bit I'm not sure about is whether doing this undermines the required signal quality that each generates?

Many thanks for any help!

Martin

2 (edited by ramses 2023-12-19 17:59:20)

Re: Are signal qualities maintained when using UFXiii hardware routing?

Hi Martin.

Welcome to the RME user forum and congratulations on getting the best and most versatile interface on the market (IMHO).

Of course, this is possible. The UFX III Instrument inputs have excellent quality. You can directly plug your guitar into Analogue IN 9, 10, 11 or 12. You will use the normal guitar cable with TS plugs.
All you need to do in TM FX is to configure the port as INST input. You find this behind the wrench symbol of the input (top row). You do not need the DI box in the signal path any more.